Latest release of my mod of PADD for Pi-Hole with more infos

Et cetera
2 min readFeb 20, 2021

--

I think I’ve reached a good level of information for this 800x480px (Pimoroni HyperPixel 4") display:

But this image don’t tell a lot if you haven’t spent days in watching the code and organizing the sections in order to make it usefuel and aesthetically pleasant, so here are the changes highlighted:

This mod has a new section for Unbound with new infos like the % of queries cached and the date of the root.hints file updated, but ⚠️ read how I configured Unbound before use it -> Updated PADD for display when Unbound has updated the root name servers and in order to understand why this display is different because is bigger and has more pixels, read the first post I wrote -> Nerdy things made nicer: Raspberry PI 4B with Pi-Hole + Unbound and Pimoroni HyperPixel 4" display

Then instead of the Raspberry PI model I switched to the Unbound release (top right corner).

I added the size of the database of FTL /etc/pihole/pihole-FTL.db.

I changed the DHCP section with DNSSEC info and deleted the IPv6 data (sorry, no space).

But remember that I have “hard coded” my router IP 192.168.1.2 due to a bug, if you want to change it with your IP remember to modifiy line 371 or write the variable instead the IP

dhcp_info=”Router: 192.168.1.2" #${DHCP_ROUTER}”

And now the file padd.sh to replace in /home/pi/ that is here: PADD for Pi-Hole + Unbound + Pimoroni Hyper Pixel 4" display

--

--